etsy?

i’m thinking about opening an etsy shop. {what’s that?}

i know i have literally posted one craft. you are probably wondering what on earth is this chick gonna sell if she doesn’t even blog about it?!

these are my {positive} feelings:

  1. i have always wanted to open an etsy shop! and i know i will someday.
  2. if i open one, i will be encouraged and motivated to craft to my hearts content to sell things, giving me more and more to sell. {build it and they will come – “they” in this sense meaning items! …wink…}
  3. if i open one, it will help me get my creative juices flowing. so even if {at first} i sell basic things, i may evolve into more intricate.unique items.
  4. if i open one, it may gather more publicity for my blog and thus, better motivate me to keep up with both.

these are my negative feelings

  1. i feel like the biggest reason i even thought about opening one right now is because i am probably not going to get my desired hours at work this semester and hubby and i need money to pay for the school that i am almost finished with. but i’m not even sure if this is a good idea because i cannot guarantee i will make any money at all, let alone enough to make up the different.
  2. i fear that, despite my positive outlook, i may not be able to come up with unique things. i find all my ideas on pinterest for pete’s sake! {not unique!}
  3. i am suddenly overwhelmed with details that aren’t important this soon in the game: adorable tags for shipments with gratitude and my blog address. cute packaging. blah blah blah.
  4. i don’t even know how to sell things online! and with school around the corner, i don’t feel like i have the time to learn enough to feel comfortable with it.

so here’s the question: is there a simpler way to earn some extra mula during the week that doesn’t require job hunting? should i focus on that for now and take baby steps at building a shop? or should i just go for it and forget my woes?

be honest.

xoxo

6 thoughts on “etsy?

  1. I’m always trying to find more ways to earn money creatively, or if I must, I will at least set my sights on something I enjoy that I get paid for! :D…..Also, this is so weird but I have never hear about etsy until a few days ago when my sister in law mentioned it to me. I passed the info to my friend who is very artsy and now you mention it! (3 times !) I don’t know much about etsy or setting up an online shop, but I think that if it’s something you are really interested in then pursue it. Maybe it will go somewhere, maybe it won’t, but at least you gave it a shot and it may lead to something unforeseen (and way better) down the road! Who knows! Also, do something because you have an interest in it and enjoy it—don’t base your decision to do it on whether or not you will make money from it. You can always find jobs on the side to earn extra dough to make up for your shortfall–it doesn’t need to be an either / or situation. If you feel that it’s too many balls you are trying to juggle all at once then take baby steps in terms of etsy. Good luck and I hope it works out for the best! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I totally agree with you on the “doing what you love” business. Life is a drudge if you don’t. Sometimes it’s necessary, but I prefer not to ๐Ÿ˜‰ And goodness, it must be sign. Either you were made to be an avid etsy shopper or you need to start crafting. …wink… thank you for your encouragement. And for reminding me to do what I can handle! I need that reminder like every day! I am feeling a little more confident about it, the more I think about it, but I also feel that it may take some time.
      xoxo

  2. You know those things you see on pinterest, that are really nice, but really require crafting because they cannot be bought… Trust me, people would love to be able to just buy those somewhere. I noticed that especially under practical things, like baby-clothes, party-accessories and the like, people always ask other pinners to make it for them. So… not all hope is lost. For example those mustaches I saw here, great wedding-photo-booth props, and just time consuming to make. Oh, and pin your stuff, of course.
    A friend of mine also has an etsy shop, and she does pretty well with her things. You just have to set the pricing right too. Not too little, but also not in the luxury range, but that really depends on what you will be making. I think this one might be helpful: http://whatthecraft.com/how-to-pricing/

    • Wow! That was incredible helpful, both your comments and that website. I guess I never really thought about the whole “underpricing” thing. I’m one who likes cheap, but that’s a good point! And that is a really great idea about the pinterest stuff! I can handle doing that and it would give me a lot of options! Thank you so much for your help and ideas. ๐Ÿ˜€
      I saw on your blog that you like crafting, too! Have you ever done any selling?

      • Glad you found the website helpful. My etsy-shop-owning-friend also sells her earrings for way too cheap. But she is also a scroogy kind of person, so she asks what she would pay, which is not a lot.
        No, I just craft for my own amusement and use the blog to keep me motivated to actually do something instead of just planning it. Like you I am in university, but unlike you I would not have the attention-span to produce enough to actually sell it. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Haha! That last part made me laugh! I could probably make a few of the same things, then I would try something new ๐Ÿ˜‰ sounds like your friend needs that article! I need to blog more about crafts… I just forget to take pictures.

Leave a Reply

