Random Act of Kindness

goodness me! i forget that there are actually nice people in the world! i don’t meet to many of them on my errands and such. but today, i did.

at our library, there is a giant staircase right as you walk in. conveniently behind it is the bookstore. a cute little alcove dedicated to books for purchase. i always thought they were old books that the library couldn’t lend anymore, but when i took a closer look today, i noticed they were really nice books! and all for around $2. {my kind of sections.} i spotted a book entitled, the wednesday letters by jason f. white. and i immediately got excited! i have heard wonderful things about this book, but never read it. i was so happy… until i realized i was cashless and so was hubby.

the adorable older lady who was volunteering for the day offered to write my name on it and save it behind the counter for me after i mentioned hiding it in the shelf. i was so happy that she would do that, i couldn’t thank her enough.

we continued looking at the books and after a few minutes, the women came up to me.

“it makes me so happy to see young people get so excited about books! i happened to have two dollars in my purse,” she said and she handed me the book. i told her i couldn’t let her do that, but she insisted. i was so touched. yeah, it was two dollars, but it was the sweetest gesture. i gave her a hug and thanked forward and backward. she completely made my day. the wednesday letters:: jason f wright

i am determined to help another. isn’t that what acts of kindness do? spread happiness and the desire to do good? think of how far one simple act can go. what can you do for someone today?

11 thoughts on “Random Act of Kindness

  1. Reblogged this on xlibrisbookreviews and commented:
    “it makes me so happy to see young people get so excited about books! i happened to have two dollars in my purse,” she said and she handed me the book. i told her i couldn’t let her do that, but she insisted. i was so touched. yeah, it was two dollars, but it was the sweetest gesture. i gave her a hug and thanked forward and backward. she completely made my day.

  2. I went to buy something (forgot what it was) and I was a dollar short. My friend was with me at the time so I told the cashier to please hold on so I could run out to the car to get another dollar. I walked back in and the little old guy that had been behind us payed the dollar for my order. We ended up talking for a little bit afterwards. I thanked him for his kindness. (:

  3. Pingback: the wednesday letters {a review} | Be Your Own Beautiful

Leave a Reply

