Holiday Health Tip #1

Happy weekend all!

I told a reader.friend I would start doing some healthy posts after the holidays because there is no use… but then I thought, there is a use! We don’t have to gain 10 pounds over the holidays, just 5. Tehehe. So here is my first tip!

Christmas cookies are unavoidable. It’s a fact. If we all just accept that, the world will be a better place. However, there is a way that we can enjoy them without feeling 100% guilty and this is my own personal rule:

Avoid at all cost… Store bought cookies!

Store Bought Cookies | Your Own Beautiful

Store bought cookies have a lot of ingredients that you probably can’t pronounce. As a rule to anything you eat… if you can’t pronounce it, stay away. That frosting also contains nasty amounts of food coloring and who knows what else. I don’t know about you, but when I eat a store bought cookie with that thick, unmoving layer of frosting, you can taste the chemicals.preservatives.crap that they are coated it. You can taste the fake! They probably have a ton of HFC {high fructose corn syrup}, too. Wouldn’t doubt it.

Though homemade cookies don’t have the world’s greatest ingredients for weight control [i.e. sugar, flour, blah blah blah], there are no preservatives [except maybe in the butter] and no chemicals. You know what’s going in them, and you know what you are getting out of it.

You will probably get a plate or two of cookies from a friend this season. You may attend a party littered with treats and goodies. You may host your own, or attend a potluck of sweeties. Just remember, eat Christmas cookies! Enjoy them because they only come once a year. But stick to homemade. And don’t curse your friends by giving anyone else store bought either.

I will be making my own very simple Christmas cookies to share with friends, next week. So keep an eye out!

Happy holidays! xo

4 thoughts on “Holiday Health Tip #1

  1. Oh dear. Christmas is the one time I let myself splurge on those store cookies with the thick frosting and unpronounceable ingredients. πŸ™‚

  2. Good advice! I think store bought cookies / cupcakes, while sometimes looing pretty, don’t taste very good. I make my own cakes / cupcakes / cookies for the holidays and although I do decorate them with icing, at least I know what went into that icing! Sugar + butter and maybe a little bit of food colouring to make it Christmas-sy! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

