First Impressions

Before I rant… I want to send out a thank you to everyone who helped me sort through some interesting thought/emotions I was having over the weekend. I so appreciate your help/advice/encouragement/love/support. Thank you. I am still working on the whole process [and this is a process] so be patient as I shape myself and this blog. And if I change appearances randomly, tell me if you like it or not! …smile…

Ok, rant time.

I don’t have a picture today. I don’t always enjoy reading pictureless posts, but this is something that I have been thinking about a lot recently.

Every day we make first impressions. It doesn’t matter if you never see that person again, you made an impression on them. At the same time, someone that may glance at you in the store may be your bff one day. You don’t know. So what do you want your first impressions to say?

Confident? Cocky? Nice? Friendly? Lazy? Grouchy? The list goes on.

Get ready for a revelation….

People who don’t care what people think about them are full of crap.

Let me explain: There are two types of these people… the confident ones [these are alright] and the lazy ones who really just don’t care.

    care [kair] verb
1. to be concerned or solicitous; have thought or regard.
2. to be concerned or have a special preference
3. to make provision or look out
4. to have an inclination, liking, fondness, or affection

You should care what people think about you! BUT… there is a line. A fine line. If you care because of vain reasons, or you care in a way that controls your life… wrong reason!

Care because you want people to respect you and trust you. Care because you represent your family, company, or any other group you associate with. Care because you deserve to have positive attention [positive being the key word here].

I am a Christian, and because I believe in Christ, I believe I am His representative. I should care what people think! Do I want to represent Christ in PJ’s? NO!

DON’T LEAVE YOUR HOUSE IN PJ’s! Unless you are making a quick trip to the drive-thru [in which case you would be staying in your car!]. Represent yourself in a way that is true to you. That says, I am a confident, smart, strong women! Not, I’m a lazy, grungy, don’t-care chica with no concern for you or myself. When you look like you don’t care what people think… you also look like you don’t care about yourself. Is that an impression you want to give people? Do you care about yourself?

Am I making sense? It’s hard to explain that line… but I hope I have expressed it well. Here’s the kicker to this whole thing… probably why it has been on my mind. This was suggested to me by my little sister. She is 13. She knows what’s up.

Can the rest of us get our butts in gear?

3 thoughts on “First Impressions

  1. On the same line of thinking, sending the message you don’t care what people think sends the message that you don’t care about them. I don’t know about you, but when I’m dressed like a slob, I feel defensive, like I need to prove I don’t care what people think. Which means I am definitely not sympathetic or friendly or caring. It makes me very self-centered. A lot like what you wrote a while ago when you said you feel sloppy when you dress sloppy, and that puts you in the wrong mindset for having a positive, productive day.

    • Goodness, you said that perfectly! I totally agree! It bothers me when people I hang out with are sloppy…. Like I’m not good enough for them to dress up for. People probably feel the same way when I dress down. And yeah, totally changes attitudes! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

