Thanksgiving weekend!

Hello all!

I hope you are having a fantastic holiday weekend! I absolutely love Thanksgiving… in fact I think I am just now starting to finally digest! I have been eating that glorious feast since 1:00 on Thursday. Here’s some shots of my favorite parts:

As you can see… we are a buffet dinner kind of family! There was more on the counter and stove… I couldn’t fit them all in my view 😉

20121124-132346.jpg

This is my favorite part! Rolls! I love them. The best part about left overs is turkey and ranch in a roll.

20121124-132402.jpg

This was my contribution to the feast! My favorite broccoli salad! Yum!

20121124-132425.jpg

Laaaaaa! (that is the angel choir singing!) Sweet potatoes, I love you.

20121124-132435.jpg

Cannot forget the main attraction! Turkey. I have to say… oven roasted turkey just doesn’t do it for me. When I was growing up, my Grampa has a pit in his backyard. It was like 6 feet deep or something like that, a big rectangle. We would put our turkeys in big ol’ pots and cook them in the pit over night. The meat fell off the bones like you wouldn’t believe! Tender, juicy turkey. The very best! Someday I will have my own pit to cook turkeys in.

20121124-132449.jpg

We ate desert while looking through the Black Friday adds. This is my desert plate… I only had half of the different varieties!

Pies:

  • Pumpkin (or course)
  • Pecan (sugarless and surprisingly scrumptious!)
  • Peach
  • Coconut Creme
  • Chocolate

Other stuff:

  • Pumpkin bread
  • pumpkin dump cake (I made that!)
  • And tons of whipped cream!

20121124-132506.jpg

It was quite a delightful day! I took a good nap in between dinner and desert. I had to digest. We all enjoyed spending time together and laughing and eating. Sadly, I did support the idiots who decided to start Black Friday early (against my better judgement… that’s just so wrong.) But I spent it with my family, so that helped me to justify it! We went out in the morning, too, topped our adventures off with breakfast at IHOP, and then went home for another nap!

I am so grateful for my family! Being away from home, I miss my side a lot a lot a lot! But I am thankful that I have amazing in-laws who love me like a real daughter! And I am also especially grateful for technology that allows me to keep very close contact with my family far away. I would die without them in my life. They all mean beyond the world to me!

What are you most thankful for this holiday weekend?

One thought on “Thanksgiving weekend!

Leave a Reply

